Conflict Transform;Jhapa

Conflict Transform;Jhapa Published date: August 21, 2016

The boundary conflict between Tribeni Community Forest, Pathariya and Purbadeurali Community Forest, Gherabari of Jhapa has been successfully transformed with nine point agreement among conflicting parties. The joint meeting to pass common alternatives was organized on in the presence of 268 participant.  The conflict facilitators from NRCTC-N has been working on this conflict case since February, 2016; following various steps of conflict transformation starting from preparation, conflict mapping, spider group formation, passing of process proposal and identification of common issue, the conflicting parties finally reached the point of agreement and a nine point agreement was passed through a joint meeting held on August 21, 2016 in the participation of 120 people. The joint meeting was chaired by Budhalal Rajbanshi, Chairperson of Range post Federation; Chief Guest was Bodh Raj Subedi District Forest Officer and special guest was Chhatra Poudel, District FECOFUN chai. Other guests in the program were NFIWUAN central committee member Bishnu Khatiwada, Assistant forest officer Devendra Upreti and representatives from Peace Committee, political parties, police, conflicting parties, conflict facilitators and other stakeholders.

Because of boundary conflict, the Deurali community forest was not handed over to communities. Speaking on this issue, the chief guest, District Forest Officer, Bodh Raj Subedi proclaimed that, “After this agreement if CFUGs complete the process of forest handover then it will be handed to users group by October 15”. He congratulated NRCTC Jhapa team, FECOFUN, DFO Staffs, CFUG Members and other concern persons who contributed valuable inputs for Conflict Transformation. Further in his saying, it is exemplary positive win-win situation to protect the last remaining tropical forest of Jalthal Jhapa. At the end he Specially thanked to NRP Sangita Thapa, District Fecofun Chair Chhatra Poudel and entire conflict facilitators team.